SENSING REALITIES

IVANA IVKOVIC—IVANA SMILJANIC—ANICA VUCETIC—SLAVICA PANIC—VESSNA PERUNOVICH—MAJA RADANOVIC OZEGOVIC

SENSING REALITIES

Curators—SASA JANJIC—MIROSLAV KARIC [Association Remont, Serbie]

  • Exhibition
© Anica Vucetic, Ivana Smiljanic, Ivana Ivkovic, Vessna Perunovich, Slavica Panic, Maja Radanovic Ozegovic, exposition Sensing Realities, Galerie B-312, 2015.

The artists

Ivana Ivkovic is interested in the notions of power, safety and protection by highlighting the importance of the experience and subjectivity in production and perception of an artwork. Nomadic artist, her work goes through various actions of decontextualization and diversion emphasizing the political aberrations in the social field. Ivana Ivkovic lives and works in Belgrade, Serbia. She has an MA in drawing from the University of Arts of Belgrade. Her work has been presented in Serbia, Croatia, Denmark, Spain and Austria. She has done several residences, notably in India and Turkey.
ivanaivkovic.com

Slavica Panic is interested in the notions of reproduction, appropriation and organisation of the communications world. She pays particular attention to the relationship between digital and analog. Her work Adventurer explores the connections between the medias, memory and the virtual to go back to the experience of exile and migration. Born in Belgrade, she lives and works in Toronto. Slavica Panic earned a BA and MA from the University of Arts in Belgrade and a MA from the University of Western Ontario in London, Canada. Her artistic career is marked by several solo and group exhibitions including Serbia, Canada, France, Croatia, Germany and Bosnia.
slavicapanic.com

Vessna Perunovitch’s practice includes drawing, performance, video, sculpture and installation. She questions the notions of intimacy and private space in line with our social constructions. She pays particular attention to borders and liminal spaces, both in a physical and psychological point of view. Although being an immigrant for over 20 years, the themes of exile, displacement and mobility are still at the heart of her practice. Born in Belgrade, she lives and works in Toronto, Canada since 1988. She holds a BA and an MA from the University of Arts in Belgrade. Her work has been presented in Canada, Serbia, Germany, England, Greece, Cuba, Portugal, the United States and China. 
vessnaperunovich.com
oboro.net 

Through a multidisciplinary approach, Maja Radanovic Ozegovic is interested in cultural differences and social values ​held by the historical legacy and stereotypes associated with these cultures. With a touch of humour, she is questioning what is inscribing in our everyday life and how it reveals our needs and desires. She interprets these informations in fictional and at time naive stories . Born in Belgrade, Maja Radanovich lives and works in Toronto, Canada since 2011. She holds a BA from the University of Arts in Belgrade majoring in sculpture/installation. She has taken part in numerous solo and group exhibitions in Serbia, Austria, France, Switzerland and South Africa.
zutacrta.com

The artist Ivana Smiljanic defines herself as a cultural activist. In a series of nine dance performances, she was inviting people from different social contexts to choose music that would serve as an anchor for her work. Initially, through these performances, she questions the hierarchical relationships and interdependence of the various stakeholders of the art community. Her other performances gradually lead her to integrate various social and cultural phenomenas such as the protest against abused women or support for young brides. The video installation presented at the Galerie B-312 is showing nine of her performances in nine different cities. Ivana Smiljanic lives and works in Belgrade, Serbia. She holds a BA and an MA from the University of Arts in Belgrade. She has exhibited in Serbia, Croatia, Austria, Greece, Norway and the United States.
ivanasmiljanic.com

For fifteen years, Anica Vucetic has been working on video installations and immersive environments exploring the unconscious, dreams, the psychological process, while referring to archetypal symbols. She is experimenting with different projection surfaces giving particular attention to the spaces her installations create (real, virtual, projected). Anica Vucetic lives and works in Belgrade, Serbia. She holds a BA and an MA from the University of Arts in Belgrade majoring in painting. Her work has been presented in Serbia, Brazil, Germany, Sweden, Japan and Canada.
25bs.wordpress.com


The curators

Sasa Janjic graduated from the department of Art History of the Faculty of Philosophy of the University of Arts in Belgrade in 2001. Since 2003, he is the editor of the art magazine Remont of Belgrade and in 2004 he was nominated as the curator of the Remont gallery. As an editor, he participated in  Documenta 12 in Kassel with an publication project. He has presented exhibitions in Serbia and abroad including: System Binario at BELEF08, Belgrade (2008); Behind Mirrors at the Italian Cultural Centre (2009); Local Line 3 Young Serbian Artists from Saint-Étienne and Belgrade at Museum of Modern Art of Saint -Etienne, France (2010); Aftermath at the National Museum of Slovenia (2012). Since 2007, he works for the Telenor's Collection of Contemporary Serbian Art. He has published several articles in national and international journals. He is a member of the Association of Fine and Applied Arts and Design in Serbia and president of the Serbian section of the International Association of Art Critics/AICA.

Miroslav Karic has a BA in Art History from the Faculty of Philosophy of the University of Arts in Belgrade (2000). Since 2001, he is secretary and curator at the Remont art center, organizing various activities in relation with the gallery from editing to special performance events. He works actively on the promotion and production of contemporary art. Since 2003, he is part of the editorial team of the Remont magazine d. During the period of 2004-2010, he was a regular publisher of the "Exhibition" section in the monthly cultural guide Yellow Cabs in Belgrade. He presented several projects in Belgrade such as PHOTO DOCUMENT S02 at the Salon du musée d’art contemporain in Belgrade (2012) and Ex -ordinary, an exhibition taking part in the project No Borders-No Nations in collaboration with artists from the former Yugoslavia.

www.remont.net

16 January 2015 to 14 February 2015

—OPENING ON FRIDAY, JANUARY 16, 2015, AT 5:30 PM
RESIDENCY—from December 29, 2014 to January 15, 2015
COLLOQUIUM—January 18, 2015, from 9 am to 5 pm

The Sensing Realities exhibition is realized as a joint project of Gallery B-312 from Montreal and Remont Gallery from Belgrade in order to connect and exchange current contem­porary art production from Canada and Serbia. The collaboration started in 2012 with the exhibition of three Canadian artists in Belgrade (“Background://”: Cynthia Girard, Nelson Henricks, Manuela Lalic; curators: Marthe Carrier and Manuela Lalic). Curated by Sasa Janjic and Miroslav Karic, this exhibition aims to present three artists from Serbia (Ivana Ivkovic, Ivana Smiljanic, Anica Vucetic) together with three artist from Serbia living and working in Canada (Slavica Panic, Vessna Perunovich, Maja Radanovic Ozegovic).
Taking advantage of their venue in Montreal, we have been creating a large-scale project, including, besides the exhibition, an artists’ residency and a colloquium, in order to raise issues of belonging, identity and displacement of such as lived by artists in the current context of globalization of trade, culture and knowledge and the mobility of people and groups.
The main idea of the exhibition is to show a variety of approaches, practices, poetics, media (video, photography, objects/installation, drawing) through which selected artists explore a wide range of topics and issues - from the sphere of the intimate space to the complexities of the social frame that surrounds and affects them. Subtle yet strong personal positions are taken as a starting point in their work in which they are reflecting on experience of immediate living and working environments but raising some essential, universal concerns and questions related to many processes that mark reality and our existences in today's society. Through their artistic practices, the artists in this exhibition are re-thinking systems, dynamics, symptoms, values they imply and existential tension of everyday life, thus implying emotional dimension and identity transitions, within phenomena of different socio-political, economic, geographic contexts and backgrounds.


This project has been made possible through the support of Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec and Conseil des arts de Montréal. Galerie B-312 wishes to thank its partner, Cinémathèque québécoise, as well as Dazibao, Les  , Skol
Valérie Gobeil, Catherine Béliveau  and Yudi Sewraj Remont Association and Galerie B-312 wish to thank the Ministery of Culture and Information of the Republic of Serbia Old Town Municipality Belgrade.

DO NOT MISS : Simultaniouly to her exhibition at B-312, the artist Vessna Perunovich is having a solo show at OBORO. 

————————————————————————————————————————

THE REMONT CENTRE

Remont is an independent artistic association created in 1999 which aims is to support the promotion of contemporary art in Serbia by establishing and developing collaboration with regional and international cultural scenes and by contributing to a permanent education and sensibilisation with young artists, curators and cultural managers. The team is composed of one director and three art historians. Artists, authors and art critics are also contributing to the center.

www.remont.net

SENSING REALITIES

IVANA IVKOVIC—IVANA SMILJANIC—ANICA VUCETIC—[Serbie]—SLAVICA PANIC—
VESSNA PERUNOVICH—MAJA RADANOVIC OZEGOVIC—[Toronto]

CommissairesSASA JANJIC—MIROSLAV KARIC [Association Remont, Serbie]

SENSING REALITIES

  • Exposition
© Anica Vucetic, Ivana Smiljanic, Ivana Ivkovic, Vessna Perunovich, Slavica Panic, Maja Radanovic Ozegovic, exposition Sensing Realities, Galerie B-312, 2015.

Les artistes

Ivana Ivkovic s’intéresse aux notions de pouvoir, de sécurité et de protection en soulignant l’importance du vécu et de la subjectivité dans la perception et dans la production d’une œuvre d’art. Artiste nomade, son travail passe par diverses actions de décontextualisation et de détournement soulignant les aberrations du politique dans le social. Ivana Ivkovic vit et travaille à Belgrade, Serbie. Elle détient une maîtrise en dessin de l’Université des arts de Belgrade. Son travail a été présenté en Serbie, en Croatie, au Danemark, en Espagne et en Autriche. Elle a effectué plusieurs résidences entre autres en Inde et en Turquie.
ivanaivkovic.com

Slavica Panic s’intéresse aux notions de reproduction, d’appropriation ainsi qu’à l’organisation de l’univers des communications. Elle porte une attention particulière à la relation entre le numérique et l’analogue. Sa pièce Adventurer explore les connexions entre les médias, la mémoire et le virtuel pour renvoyer à l’expérience de l’exil et de la migration. Née à Belgrade, elle vit et travaille à Toronto. Slavica Panic a obtenu un baccalauréat et une maîtrise de l’Université des arts de Belgrade et une maîtrise de l’Université de Western Ontario de London, Canada. Son parcours artistique est jalonné de plusieurs expositions individuelles et collectives notamment en Serbie, au Canada, en France, en Croatie, en Allemagne et en Bosnie.
slavicapanic.com

La pratique de Vessna Perunovitch englobe le dessin, la performance, la vidéo, la sculpture et l’installation. Elle questionne les notions d’intimité et d’espace privé en lien avec nos constructions sociales. Elle porte une attention particulière aux frontières et aux espaces liminaux, autant d’un point de vue physique que psychique. Bien qu’immigré depuis plus de 20 ans, les thématiques de l’exil, du déplacement et de la mobilité sont toujours au cœur de sa pratique. Née à Belgrade, elle vit et travaille à Toronto, Canada depuis 1988. Elle détient un baccalauréat et une maîtrise de l’Université des arts de Belgrade. Son travail a été présenté au Canada, en Serbie, en Allemagne, en Angleterre, en Grèce, à Cuba, au Portugal, aux États-Unis et en Chine.
vessnaperunovich.com
oboro.net 

Par une approche pluridisciplinaire, Maja Radanovic Ozegovic s’intéresse aux différences culturelles et aux valeurs sociales portées par l’héritage historique ainsi qu’aux stéréotypes associés à ces cultures. Avec une pointe d’humour, elle interroge ce qui s’inscrit dans la quotidienneté et en quoi celle-ci révèle nos besoins et nos désirs. Elle réinterprète ces informations dans des récits fictifs et parfois naïfs. Née à Belgrade, Maja Radanovich vit et travaille à Toronto, Canada, depuis 2011. Elle détient un baccalauréat de l’Université des arts de Belgrade avec une spécialisation en sculpture/installation. Elle a à son actif de nombreuses participations à des expositions individuelles et collectives en Serbie, en Autriche, en France, en Suisse et en Afrique du Sud.
zutacrta.com

L’artiste Ivana Smiljanic se définit comme une activiste culturelle. Dans une série de neuf performances de danse, elle invitait les gens issus de différents contextes sociaux à choisir la musique qui lui servirait d’ancrage à son travail. Si au départ, par le biais de ces performances, elle questionne les relations hiérarchiques et l’interdépendance des différents intervenants du milieu artistique, ses autres prestations l’amènent progressivement à intégrer divers phénomènes sociaux ou culturels, tels la défense contre la violence faite aux femmes ou le soutien aux jeunes mariées. L’installation vidéographique qu’elle présente à la Galerie B-312 réunira neuf de ses performances réalisées dans autant de villes différentes. Ivana Smiljanic réside et travaille à Belgrade, Serbie. Elle détient un baccalauréat et une maîtrise de l’Université des arts de Belgrade. Elle a exposé en Serbie, en Croatie, en Autriche, en Grèce, en Norvège et aux États-Unis.
ivanasmiljanic.com

Depuis une quinzaine d’années, Anica Vucetic travaille sur des installations vidéo et des environnements immersifs explorant ce qui a trait à l’inconscient, au rêve, au processus psychologique, tout en référant à des symboles archétypaux. Elle expérimente diverses surfaces de projection en portant une attention particulière aux espaces que ses installations créent (réels, virtuels, projetés). Anica Vucetic vit et travaille à Belgrade, Serbie. Elle détient un baccalauréat et une maîtrise de l’Université des arts de Belgrade avec une spécialisation en peinture. Son travail a été présenté en Serbie, au Brésil, en Allemagne, en Suède, au Japon et au Canada.
25bs.wordpress.com


Les commissaires

Sasa Janjic est diplômé du département d’histoire de l’art de la Faculté de philosophie de l’Université des arts de Belgrade en 2001. Depuis 2003, il est le rédacteur en chef du magazine d'art Remont de Belgrade alors qu’en 2004, il a été nommé commissaire à la galerie du même nom. En tant que rédacteur, il a participé à la Documenta 12 de Kassel avec un projet d’édition. Il a présenté des expositions en Serbie comme à l’étranger dont : System Binario à BELEF08, Belgrade (2008) ; Behind Mirrors au Italian Cultural Centre (2009) ; Local Line 3, Young Serbian Artists from Saint-Étienne and Belgrade au Musée d'art moderne de Saint-Étienne, France (2010) ; Aftermath au Musée national de la Slovanie (2012). Depuis 2007, il travaille pour la Telenor's Collection of Contemporary Serbian Art. Il a publié plusieurs articles dans des revues nationales et internationales. Il est membre de l’Association of Fine and Applied Arts and Design in Serbia et président de la section serbe de l’International Association of Art Critics/AICA. 

Miroslav Karic a obtenu un baccalauréat en Histoire de l'art à la Faculté de philosophie de l’Université des arts de Belgrade en 2000. Depuis 2001, il est secrétaire et commissaire au centre d’art Remont, organisant différentes activités en lien avec la galerie allant de l’édition aux événements spéciaux de performance. Il travaille activement à la promotion et la production de l’art contemporain. Depuis 2003, il fait partie de l’équipe de rédaction du magazine  Remont. Durant la période de 2004-2010, il fut régulièrement l’éditeur de la section « Exposition » dans le guide culturel mensuel Yellow Cabs de Belgrade. Il a présenté plusieurs projets à Belgrade dont PHOTO‐DOCUMENT S02 au Salon du Musée d’art contemporain, Belgrade (2012) et Ex–ordinary, une exposition dans le cadre du projet No Borders–No Nations en collaboration avec des artistes provenant de l’ex-Yougoslavie.

www.remont.net

16 janvier 2015 au 14 février 2015

—VERNISSAGE VENDREDI 16 JANVIER 2015 À 17H30
RÉSIDENCE—du 29 décembre 2014 au 15 janvier 2015
COLLOQUE—le 18 janvier 2015, de 9h à 17h

En 2012, la Galerie B-312 organisait un échange avec le centre Remont de Belgrade en présentant l’exposition Background :// (Cynthia Girard, Nelson Henricks et Manuela Lalic ; commissaires Marthe Carrier et Manuela Lalic). Cette année, sous le commissariat de Sasa Janjic et Miroslav Karic, la Galerie B-312 accueille à son tour le centre Remont avec l’exposition Sensing Realities, qui réunit le travail de six femmes artistes d’origine serbe, dont trois vivent en Serbie (Ivana Ivkovic, Ivana Smiljanic, Anica Vucetic) et trois à Toronto (Slavica Panic, Vessna Perunovich, Maja Radanovic Ozegovic).
Profitant de la venue des Serbes, nous avons souhaité créer un projet d’envergure réunissant exposition, résidence d’artistes et colloque, afin de soulever les questions d’appartenance, de déplacement et d’identité tels que le vivent les artistes dans le contexte actuel de la mondialisation des échanges, des cultures, des savoirs et de la mobilité des personnes et des groupes.
Pour l’exposition, les commissaires ont choisi de présenter, à même une variété d’approches et de pratiques, un large éventail des préoccupations artistiques actuelles – de la sphère intime à la complexité de l’espace public, du geste poétique à l’acte activiste ou à l’art engagé. Un positionnement individuel subtil, mais déterminé, sert de point d’ancrage à leur pratique qui s’inspire de leur expérience personnelle et de leur environnement. Mais surtout, les artistes soulèvent des questions essentielles et universelles, présentes dans de nombreuses pratiques, qui témoignent de notre réalité et de notre façon de vivre actuelle. À travers leur recherche, les artistes de cette exposition (re) pensent les systèmes, les dynamiques, les symptômes, les valeurs et les tensions quotidiennes que leur travail recèle et interrogent, avec une certaine charge émotionnelle et une identité en transition, les contextes sociopolitiques, économiques, géographiques et leur propre héritage culturel. 


Ce projet a été rendu possible grâce au soutien du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec et du Conseil des arts de Montréal. La Galerie B-312 remercie son partenaire, la Cinémathèque québécoise, ainsi que Dazibao, Les TerritoiresSkolValérie Gobeil, Catherine Béliveau et Yudi Sewraj. 
Le centre Remont et la Galerie B-312 remercient le Ministère de la culture et de l'information de la République de la Serbie et la Municipalité de Belgrade.

À SURVEILLER : Simultanément à son exposition à B-312, l'artiste Vessna Perunovich présente une exposition individuelle au centre OBORO.

————————————————————————————————————————

LE CENTRE REMONT

Remont est une association artistique indépendante fondée en 1999 dont la mission est de promouvoir l’art contemporain en Serbie et de contribuer à l’établissement de nouveaux standards professionnels de diffusion. Depuis son ouverture, cette association a mis sur pied et a soutenu nombre de projets artistiques sur la scène locale, régionale et en Europe. L’équipe est composée de trois historiens de l’art et d’une directrice administrative à laquelle se joignent des étudiants et des diplômés. Y contribuent également des artistes, des critiques d’art, des auteurs et des vidéastes.

www.remont.net