BALZAC, BUTOR, DERRIDA, SOLLERS

MARC DESJARDINS

BALZAC, BUTOR, DERRIDA, SOLLERS

Cinq années de travaux sur le livre

  • Exhibition
@ Marc Desjardins, exhibition "Balzac, Butor, Derrida, Sollers", Galerie B-312, 1992.
4 April 1992 to 25 April 1992

This exhibition proposes a dialogue and a deployment of space between literature and plastic arts. The book is interpreted to us - as we say of a musical piece - it becomes a productive object, a matrix.

The book is first of all a visual work. It gives itself to be seen and gives to be seen. Reading, in its interpretative sense, is here the privileged moment of the gesture of art, of the glance posed on the things and the glance which manufactures the things. The book, an eminently "readable" work, is not simply a reading support but gives us to read its construction, its functional economy. The book is deployment and imagination, it constantly plays in a bundle of relationships.

Through these five years of work, Marc Desjardins makes us participate in an aesthetic experience of the book-like where the book is to be grasped not as a simple medium of the text but as a content of aesthetic information. The book poses problems of space, it has relations to space just as we have relations to space. Perhaps it incites us to look at it and to perceive it not as a closed and external object, but as a co-reality of being, in transparency with oneself, and perhaps also, by the same token, to rest our own relationship to reality.

BALZAC, BUTOR, DERRIDA, SOLLERS

MARC DESJARDINS

BALZAC, BUTOR, DERRIDA, SOLLERS

Cinq années de travaux sur le livre

  • Exposition
Marc Desjardins BALZAC, BUTOR, DERRIDA, SOLLERS @ Marc Desjardins, exposition "Balzac, Butor, Derrida, Sollers", Galerie B-312, 1992.
@ Marc Desjardins, exposition "Balzac, Butor, Derrida, Sollers", Galerie B-312, 1992.
4 avril 1992 au 25 avril 1992

—VERNISSAGE SAMEDI 04 AVRIL À 14H

Cette exposition propose un dialogue et un déploiement d'espace entre littérature et arts plastiques. Le livre nous est interprété — comme on dit d'une pièce musicale — il devient objet producteur, matrice.

Le livre est avant toute détermination une oeuvre visuelle. il se donne à voir et donne à voir. La lecture, dans son acception d'interprétation, est ici l'instant privilégié du geste d'art, du regard posé sur les choses et du regard qui fabrique les choses. Le livre, oeuvre éminemment "à lire", n'est pas simplement support de lecture mais nous donne à lire sa facture, son économie fonctionnelle. Le livre est déploiement et imagination, il joue sans cesse en un faisceau de relations.

À travers ces cinq années de travaux, Marc Desjardins nous fait participer à une expérience esthétique du livresque où le livre est à saisir non pas comme simple véhicule du texte mais contenu d'informations esthétiques. Le livre pose des problématiques d'espace, il a des relations à l'espace tout comme nous avons des relations à l'espace. Il nous incite peut-être à le regarder et le percevoir non pas comme objet clos et externe, mais comme co-réalité de l'être, en transparence avec soi, et peut-être aussi, par le fait même, à reposer notre propre rapport à la réalité.