SOUS LE JARDIN

MARTIN BORDEN

SOUS LE JARDIN

  • Exhibition
© Martin Borden, exhibition, Galerie B-312, 1994.
15 October 1994 to 12 November 1994

And the Lord God made every tree grow that is pleasing to the eye and good to eat, and also the tree of life in the middle of the garden, and the tree of the knowledge of good and evil. And the Lord God took the man and put him into the Garden of Eden to cultivate and keep it.

Genesis 2: 9,15

The idea of the garden as a meeting point between the natural and human worlds emerges from the fertile soil of images that myth, science, religion and language have deposited in our minds. Some of our most deeply rooted notions about our place in the living world take root in this subterranean landscape. The tree of life, the first man and the fall, the desert, culture, fertility rites and worship form a knot of paths that describe the relationship of dependence, sometimes made of contradictions and exploration, that links us to the green world. The "third nature", or created space of the garden, and particularly the male figure of the gardener or topiarus (topos = place, topiarus = the man responsible for the place), is not only the main subject of this work but also the metaphor from which the form and methodology of the exhibition was developed.

Martin Borden

And their eyes were opened, and they knew that they were naked, and they sewed together fig leaves for aprons.

Genesis 3:7

The private garden has perhaps been the most problematic type of landscape this century... yet gardens reflect the deep symbolic meanings and myths that nature holds.

Stuart Wrede and William Howard Adams, introduction à:
Denatured Visions, Landscape and Culture in the Twentieth Century
The Museum of Modern Art, New York

But the Glory of the garden is greater than what our eyes see. Because where the laurel eyes grow, along the little red wall, are the stores of tools that are the heart of everything. Rudyard Kipling, The Glory of the Garden The history of gardens and like the study of icebergs: we only see a small part of them above, while the most important is underneath.

Christopher Thacker, The History of Gardens, University of California Press

SOUS LE JARDIN

MARTIN BORDEN

SOUS LE JARDIN

  • Exposition
Martin Borden SOUS LE JARDIN © Martin Borden, exposition à la Galerie B-312, 1994.
© Martin Borden, exposition à la Galerie B-312, 1994.
15 octobre 1994 au 12 novembre 1994

—VERNISSAGE SAMEDI 15 OCTOBRE À 14H

Et le Seigneur Dieu fit pousser chaque arbre agréable à regarder et bon manger, et aussi l'arbre de vie au milieu du jardin et l'arbre de la connaissance du bien et du mal. Et le Seigneur Dieu prit l'homme et le mit dans le jardin d'Eden pour le cultiver et le garder. 

Genèse 2: 9,15

L'idée du jardin comme point de rencontre entre les mondes naturel et humain surgit du terreau fertile en images que le mythe, la science, la religion et le langage ont déposé dans notre esprit. Quelques-unes de nos notions les plus enracinées sur notre place dans le monde vivant prennent racine dans ce paysage souterrain. L'arbre de vie, le premier homme et la chute, le désert, la culture, les rites de fertilité et d'adoration forment un noeud de chemins qui décrivent la relation de dépendance, faite parfois de contradictions et d'exploration, qui nous lie au monde vert. La "troisième nature", ou espace créé du jardin, et particulièrement le personnage masculin du jardinier ou le topiarus (topos= endroit, topiarus= l'homme responsable de l'endroit), est non seulement le sujet principal de ce travail mais aussi la métaphore à partir de laquelle ont été élaborées la forme et la méthodologie de l'exposition.

Martin Borden

Et leurs yeux s'ouvrirent, et ils surent qu'ils étaient nus, ils cousirent ensemble des feuilles de figuier pour s'en faire des tabliers.

Genèse 3:7

Le jardin privé a peut-être été le type de paysage le plus problématique de ce siècle... pourtant les jardins traduisent les significations symboliques profondes et les mythes que la nature renferme.

Stuart Wrede and William Howard Adams, introduction à: Denatured
Visions, Landscape and Culture in the Twentieth Century
The Museum of Modern Art, New York

Mais la Gloire du jardin est plus grande que ce que voient nos yeux. Parce que là où les yeux lauriers poussent, le long du petit mur rouge, se trouvent les réserves d'outils qui sont le coeur de tout.

Rubyard Kipling, The Glory of the Garden 

L'histoire des jardins et comme l,étude des icebergs: on n,en voit qu'une petite partie au-dessus, alors que le plus important est en-dessous.

Christopher Thacker, The History of Gardens, University of California Press