Archives

Fall 2005
8 December

DIANE LABROSSE—PIERRE TANGUAY—MICHEL F. CÔTÉ

LES JEUDIS TOUT OUÏE

Diane Labrosse, Pierre Tanguay and Michel F Côté are dominant figures on the current music scene. All three will improvise together around their fetish instruments. One night, for an unconventional musical encounter, unbridled, in complete freedom.

Spring 2005
16 July to 11 August

MICHEL BOULANGER, MANON DE PAUW, ADAD HANNAH, MANUELA LALIC, PAMÉLA LANDRY, RENÉE LAVAILLANTE 
— COMMISSAIRES — CHRIS BROWN, MARTHE CARRIER, ANTHONY SHAPPLAND

Anima —Deux expositions—Un projet
20 May to 25 June

BEDWYR WILLIAMS, MICHAEL COUSIN, PHILIPPA LAWRENCE, RACHEL THORLBY, RICHARD HIGLETT, SARA REES — COMMISSAIRES  — CHRIS BROWN, MARTHE CARRIER, ANTHONY SHAPPLAND 

Anima—Deux expositions—Un projet
Spring 2004
1 April to 17 April

ARTISTES VARIÉS

Caritas 2004
More than forty artists responded to the call, and nearly fifty works will be on sale during this benefit exhibition.
Spring 2003
21 August

ADAD HANNAH—ALANA RILEY—BESNIK HAXHILLARI—FLUTURA—SYLVIE COTTON—VICTORIA STANTON

Playground

Rachel Echenberg, invited Sylvie Cotton, Adad Hannah, Flutura and Besnik Haxhillari, Alana Riley and Victoria Stanton to intervene in Alphonse-Télesphore-Lépine Park located at the corner of Fairmount and de Gaspé Streets.

10 April to 26 April

Various Artists

Caritas 2003

Caritas is Latin for "high price", "expensive (of a thing)". But Caritas also means "high esteem", "love", "tenderness", "affection". This year again, almost 50 artists agreed to participate in the Caritas sales exhibition organized for the benefit of Gallery B-...

10 April to 26 April

Caritas

A fundraising exhibition at Galerie B-312

This year again, almost 50 artists agreed to participate in the Caritas sales exhibition organized for the benefit of Gallery B-312.—60% of the proceeds from the sale are donated to the gallery, the difference being kept by the artist.

Spring 2002
30 March to 27 April

MICHELLE BOUDREAU—LUC BOURBONNAIS—MARIO CÔTÉ—CLAUDE FERLAND

DES YEUX POUR ÎLES

Michel Gonneville invited artists Michelle Boudreau, Luc Bourbonnais, Mario Côté and Claude Ferland to create a work based on Îles, a musical piece he composed in 1991 for choreographer Jean-Pierre Perreault. 

23 February to 23 March

CHANTAL GOULET—MARIE A. CÔTÉ—SYLVIE BOUCHARD—SYLVIE READMAN

RÉCIPROCITÉS

Gallery B-312 proposed to invite a scientist to design an exhibition as a scientist. It had in mind this threefold question: how does the scientist's sensitivity intersect with that of the artist? How would the artist respond to the questions of an art-oriented scientist?

Spring 2001
25 January

JOSEPH BRANCO and MARIE A. CÔTÉ

MEET THE ARTISTS

As part of the exhibitions of Marie A. Côté and Joseph Branco, Galerie B-312 presents an evening of meetings and discussions with these two artists. The artists will speak in order to share with us their approach.

13 January to 10 February

MARIE A. CÔTÉ

PLANS D’EAU

Among the preoccupations that have fuelled his recent work, the relationship between drawing and sculpture, between the plan and the resulting spatial setting, occupies a major place. 

Fall 2000
1 October

PIERRE CHARTIER, RENÉ BRIND’AMOUR

ATELIER DE DIDGERIDOO

As part of the Journées de la culture 2000, a workshop on didgeridoo initiation will take place in the space of the Gallery B-312. Pierre Chartier and René Brind'Amour of the duo Origine will be present to make this primitive trumpet from Australia better known. 

21 September

JOCELINE CHABOT AND KAREN TRASK

AN ENCOUNTER

As part of the exhibitions of Joceline Chabot and Karen Trask, an evening of meetings and discussions with these two artists will be presented at Galerie B-312. They will speak in turn to share with us their approach, their concerns and the questions that motivate them.

9 September to 7 October

JOCELINE CHABOT

DISPERSION

Light plays a predominant role in what Joceline Chabot offers us. Given the subtlety of the interventions, one can question and doubt when setting foot in the exhibition space. Nothing assails us here. What is there to look at?

Spring 2000
13 May to 10 June

PIERRE CLEMENS

LANDSCAPE IN PROCESS

Strictly speaking, landscape is neither shown nor represented. And the way in which he cuts them up leads us to believe that they are more fragments of larger entities. 

Fall 1999
26 September 15h - 16h

PIERRE CHARTIER AND RENÉ BRIND'AMOUR

LE DUO ORIGINE

For the 1999-2000 season, Galerie B-312 is beginning to present a series of musical events that will take place in its spaces. The first of these events will be held on Sunday, September 26 at 3 p.m., as part of the Journées de la culture. 

Fall 1997
11 September to 10 October

DE LA PHOTOGRAPHIE

Artworks sale

It is with photography as a theme several Montreal artists have come together to participate in Galerie B-312's fall fundraising event. The exhibition is composed of different works that raise questions about the problematic of photography.

Fall 1996
14 September to 12 October

MARTHE CARRIER

PAYSAGES ET AUTRES VUES

Halfway between the real and the imaginary, three historiographies are inscribed against these walls of meaning, the sculptures functioning as spaces of reverberation. This work sets the boundaries of the sensible and the intelligible as a way of understanding reality.

Spring 1996
25 May to 22 June

EYELEVEL GALLERY

EFFLUENT

The exchange project between artist-run centres outside of Quebec and the Galerie B-312  is in its final stage with the presentation of the EyeLevel Gallery centre in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

Fall 1995
18 November to 9 December

PRÉLIMINAIRES

Artworks sale

As every year, B-312 Emergence invites you to a fundraising event. This time, twenty-six artists, to whom the gallery's project is particularly close to their hearts, will present twenty-five works on Préliminaires.

Spring 1995
11 February to 11 March

JOSÉE BERNARD— MICHEL BOULANGER—MARTHE CARRIER—KEVIN DEFOREST—CHRISTIANE DESJARDINS—JOHANNE GAGNON—FRANÇOIS LACASSE

DIVERSITÉ ET RAPPROCHEMENTS

Wishing to discover the work of their peers outside the borders and to continue the dissemination of their own production here, as well as outside Quebec, the members of Galerie B-312 have initiated an exchange project between artist-run centres from five different provinces. 

Spring 1994
19 March to 16 April

Eastern Edge

home is where the art is

This group exhibition showcases the artistic propositions of individuals active in the visual arts community in Saint-Jean, grouped under the theme À sources sûres.

Spring 1993
1 May to 22 May

ARTISTES VARIÉS

ITINÉRAIRE 12

Selected and organized by the Galerie Sans Nom Co-op Itée of Moncton, this travelling exhibition composed of twelve New Brunswick artists, will be presented in several regions of Canada.

Fall 1992
3 October to 24 October

GUY CHAPLEAU

SCULPTURES

Through his sculptures Guy Chapleau introduces us to the mathematics of movement. Like a grid for analyzing the world's situation, the rigor of geometry is combined with the sensitive, revealing the tensions existing between the transformation of matter and its origin.

Fall 1991
7 December to 21 December

GISÈLE TRUDEL and STÉPHANE CLAUDE

RTEN

This video installation is an allegory of the birth of light at the December 21st solstice, the winter door that introduces the new light phase of the annual cycle. Sign of the opening, the concentration of energy in gestation pierces and transforms the veil of death. 

9 November to 30 November

MARTHE CARRIER

SCULPTURE

Pages

Archives

Printemps 2005
20 mai au 25 juin

BEDWYR WILLIAMS, MICHAEL COUSIN, PHILIPPA LAWRENCE, RACHEL THORLBY, RICHARD HIGLETT, SARA REES — COMMISSAIRES  — CHRIS BROWN, MARTHE CARRIER, ANTHONY SHAPPLAND 

Anima—Deux expositions—Un projet
Printemps 2004
1 avril au 17 avril

ARTISTES VARIÉS

Caritas 2004

Ils ont été plus de quarante artistes à avoir répondu à l’appel, c’est donc près de cinquante œuvres qui seront mises en vente lors de cette exposition bénéfice.

Printemps 2003
21 août

ADAD HANNAH—ALANA RILEY—BESNIK HAXHILLARI—FLUTURA—SYLVIE COTTON—VICTORIA STANTON

Playground

Invitée par la Galerie B-312, Rachel Echenberg propose à Sylvie Cotton, Adad Hannah, Flutura, Besnik Haxhillari, Alana Riley et Victoria Stanton d’intervenir dans le parc Alphonse-Télesphore-Lépine situé à l’angle des rues Fairmount et de Gaspé.

10 avril au 26 avril

ARTISTES VARIÉS

Caritas 2003

Caritas signifie en latin « prix élevé », « cherté (d’une chose) ». Mais Caritas signifie aussi « haute estime », « amour », « tendresse », « affection ». Au pluriel, le mot désigne « les êtres aimés », « les objets de tendresse ».—Cette année encore, près de 50 artistes ont accepté...

10 avril au 26 avril

CARITAS

Une exposition au bénéfice de la Galerie B-312

Cette année encore, près de 50 artistes ont accepté de participer à l’expo vente Caritas organisée au bénéfice de la Galerie B-312—60% des revenus de la vente sont versés à la galerie, la différence étant conservée par l’artiste.

Printemps 2002
30 mars au 27 avril

MICHELLE BOUDREAU—LUC BOURBONNAIS—MARIO CÔTÉ—CLAUDE FERLAND

DES YEUX POUR ÎLES

Michel Gonneville a invité les artistes Michelle Boudreau, Luc Bourbonnais, Mario Côté et Claude Ferland à créer une œuvre à partir d’Îles, une pièce musicale qu’il avait composée en 1991 pour le chorégraphe Jean-Pierre Perreault.

23 février au 23 mars

CHANTAL GOULET—MARIE A. CÔTÉ—SYLVIE BOUCHARD—SYLVIE READMAN

RÉCIPROCITÉS

La Galerie B-312 se proposait d’inviter un scientifique pour concevoir une exposition en tant que scientifique. Elle avait alors à l’esprit cette triple question : comment la sensibilité du scientifique croise-t-elle celle de l’artiste ? comment l’artiste répondrait-il aux interrogations d’un scientifique tourné...

Printemps 2001
25 janvier

JOSEPH BRANCO et MARIE A. CÔTÉ

RENCONTRE AVEC LES ARTISTES

Dans le cadre des expositions de Marie A. Côté et de Joseph Branco, la Galerie B-312 présente une soirée de rencontres et discussions avec ces deux artistes. Ceux-ci prendront la parole successivement afin de nous faire part de leur démarche.

13 janvier au 10 février

MARIE A. CÔTÉ

PLANS D’EAU

Parmi les préoccupations qui ont alimenté son travail récent, la relation entre dessin et sculpture, entre le plan et la mise en espace qui en découle, occupe une place majeure. 

Automne 2000
1 octobre

PIERRE CHARTIER, RENÉ BRIND’AMOUR

ATELIER DE DIDGERIDOO

Dans le cadre des Journées de la culture 2000, aura lieu dans l’espace de la Galerie B-312 un atelier d’initiation au didgeridoo. Pierre Chartier et René Brind’Amour du duo Origine seront présents afin de mieux faire connaître cette trompette primitive originaire d’Australie.

21 septembre

JOCELINE CHABOT ET KAREN TRASK

Rencontre

Dans le cadre des expositions de Joceline Chabot et de Karen Trask sera présentée à la Galerie B-312 une soirée de rencontres et discussions avec ces deux artistes. Celles-ci prendront la parole successivement afin de nous faire part de leur démarche.

9 septembre au 7 octobre

JOCELINE CHABOT

DISPERSION

La lumière joue un rôle prépondérant dans ce que nous propose Joceline Chabot. Étant donné la subtilité des interventions, l'on peut s’interroger et douter en mettant le pied dans l’espace d’exposition. Rien ne nous assaille ici. Qu'y a-t-il à regarder?

Printemps 2000
13 mai au 10 juin

PIERRE CLEMENS

LANDSCAPE IN PROCESS

À proprement parler, le paysage n'y est ni montré, ni représenté. Et le découpage qu'il opère nous laisse croire qu'il s'agit davantage de fragments d'ensembles plus vastes. Le subtil travail en noir et blanc qu'il développe met en place des jeux de lumières et d'ombres qui, en relation avec les formes qu'il...

Automne 1999
26 septembre 15h - 16h

PIERRE CHARTIER ET RENÉ BRIND'AMOUR

LE DUO ORIGINE

Pour la saison 1999-2000, la Galerie B-312 amorce la présentation d'une série d'événements musicaux qui auront lieu dans ses espaces. Le premier de ces événements se tiendra le dimanche 26 septembre à 15 heures, dans le cadre des Journées de la culture. 

Automne 1997
11 septembre au 10 octobre

DE LA PHOTOGRAPHIE

Vente d'oeuvres

C'est sous le thème de la photographie que plusieurs artistes de Montréal se sont regroupés afin de participer à l'événement bénéfice de la rentrée d'automne de la Galerie B-312. 

Automne 1996
14 septembre au 12 octobre

MARTHE CARRIER

PAYSAGES ET AUTRES VUES

A mi-chemin entre le réel et l’imaginaire, trois historiettes viennent s'inscrire contre ces parois de sens, les sculptures fonctionnant comme autant d'espaces de réverbération. Ce travail pose les frontières du sensible et de l'intelligible comme mode d'entendement du réel.

Printemps 1996
25 mai au 22 juin

EYELEVEL GALLERY

EFFLUENT

Le projet d'échange entre centres d'artistes hors du Québec et la galerie B-312 en est à dernière étape avec la présentation du centre EyeLevel Gallery de Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Automne 1995
18 novembre au 9 décembre

PRÉLIMINAIRES

Vente d'oeuvres

Comme à chaque année, B-312 Émergence vous convie à un événement bénéfice. Cette fois, vingt-six artistes, à qui le projet de la galerie tient particulièrement à cœur, présenteront vingt-cinq œuvres sur la problématique des Préliminaires.

Printemps 1995
11 février au 11 mars

JOSÉE BERNARD— MICHEL BOULANGER—MARTHE CARRIER—KEVIN DEFOREST—CHRISTIANE DESJARDINS—JOHANNE GAGNON—FRANÇOIS LACASSE

DIVERSITÉ ET RAPPROCHEMENTS

Souhaitant découvrir le travail de leurs pairs hors-frontières et poursuivre la diffusion de leur propre production ici, comme à l'extérieur du Québec, les membres de la Galerie B-312 ont initié un projet d'échange entre centres d'artistes autogérés en provenance de cinq provinces différentes.

Printemps 1994
19 mars au 16 avril

Eastern Edge

home is where the art is

Cette exposition de groupe nous fait connaître les propositions artistiques d'individus actifs dans le milieu des arts visuels à Saint-Jean, regroupés sous le thème À sources sûres, enfance de l'art.

Printemps 1993
1 mai au 22 mai

ARTISTES VARIÉS

ITINÉRAIRE 12

Sélectionnée et organisée par la Galerie Sans Nom Co-op Itée de Moncton, cette exposition itinérante composée de douze artistes du Nouveau-Brunswick sera présentée dans plusieurs régions du Canada.

Automne 1992
3 octobre au 24 octobre

GUY CHAPLEAU

SCULPTURES

Par ses sculptures Guy Chapleau nous introduit à une mathématique du mouvement. Telle une grille d'analyse sur la donné du monde, la rigueur de la géométrie s'allie au sensible, révélant les tensions existant entre la transformation de la matière et son origine. 

Automne 1991
7 décembre au 21 décembre

GISÈLE TRUDEL ET STÉPHANE CLAUDE

RTEN

Cette installation vidéo se veut une allégorie de la naissance de la lumière au solstice du 21 décembre, la porte hivernale qui introduit la nouvelle phase lumineuse du cycle annuel. Signe de l'ouverture, la concentration d'énergie en gestation transperce et transforme le voile de la mort. 

9 novembre au 30 novembre

MARTHE CARRIER

SCULPTURE

Pages