Archives

Automne 2020
8 September to 18 October

RANDA MADDAH— EMILIE SERRI — GUILLERMO TREJO— KIM WALDRON

Espaces identitaires
eXcentrer

The migration of peoples is a recurring phenomenon in the history of humanity, whether by choice, by obligation, by necessity. What defines our territory? How does cultural heritage and identity affect who we are?

Spring 2020
20 March to 10 May

RANDA MADDAH— EMILIE SERRI — GUILLERMO TREJO— KIM WALDRON

Espaces identitaires | eXcentrer
Postponed Exhibition

The migration of peoples is a recurring phenomenon in the history of humanity, whether by choice, by obligation, by necessity. What defines our territory? How does cultural heritage and identity affect who we are?

21 February to 28 March

LA TRACK | THE TRACK

ABOUT THE ARTISTS

Learn more about the artists from Montreal and Baltimore from La Track | The Track exhibition presented at Galerie B-312 until March 28, 2020. 

 

21 February to 28 March

LA TRACK | THE TRACK

MONTRÉAL | BALTIMORE
Galerie B-312 is pleased to present the second part of La Track | The Track exhibition. Curated by Gabrielle Lajoie-Bergeron, artists from Montreal and Baltimore reveal the results of their respective residences in foreign territories by focusing on disorientation, uprooting and encounter notions.
Fall 2019
13 September 19h à 22h

eXcentrer

Launching

eXcentrer's curators Marthe Carrier, Stéphanie Chabot, Emmanuelle Choquette and Émilie Granjon, directors of Galerie B-312, Skol, Arprim and Circa invite you to this singular event which takes place from September 2019 to May 2020 at the Galerie d'art Desjardins de Drummondville.

Summer 2019
13 July to 26 August

Naghmeh Sharifi

Artist in residence

Naghmeh Sharifi benefits from a free residency to explore the relationship between the body and space: the body that inhabits space and the body as an inhabited space. Through elementary media such as paper, wax, ink and water, she depicts the diluted and uncertain worlds of her subjects.

Spring 2019
6 April

LAUZIER / ORINS/ SCHELLANDER + GUIONNET / NORMAND / PAYEUR

TOUR DE BRAS

As part of a series of concerts in Québec, Galerie B-312 is pleased to welcome Tour de Bras = B312 Rencontres improvisées, with as special guests saxophone Jean-Luc Guionnet, electronic music Émilie Payeur and bass Éric Normand. 

4 February to 15 July

LA TRACK | THE TRACK

Montréal | Baltimore

As part of La Track | The Track project, four Montreal artists and two art collectives will be at Pigment Sauvage for in situ and off-site residencies, culminating in two group exhibitions at the Institute of Contemporary Art Baltimore in November 2019 and at Galerie B-312 in February 2020. 

19 January to 2 March

La Vitrine

Atelier Daigneault | Schofield

Since 2004 Michel Daigneault and Stephen Schofield have offered the showcases of their studio on Rachel street to fellow artists to present their work. Artists occupy the windows for a two-month period and have used the space in a wide range of ways such as an exhibition or installation space.

18 January to 2 March

CAROLINE SAVES AND BENOÎT VIDAL

J'éprouve le silence des corps, c'est doux les gestes inanimés
Conversations Montréal | Lyon

As part of Conversations Montréal | Lyon, Caroline Saves and Benoît Vidal propose a suspended choreography in which their performative and sculptural actions intersect and converse to question sign language through the memory of their moving bodies. 

19 December to 16 January

Caroline Saves and Benoît Vidal 

Artists in residence
Conversations Montréal | Lyon

During the holiday season, Galerie B-312 is pleased to offer its space to two artists from Lyon, Caroline Saves and Benoît Vidal, in the context of the project Conversations Montréal | Lyon

Fall 2018
27 October to 1 December

GRÁFICA ABIERTA

ABOUT THE ARTISTS

Learn more about the artists exhibiting at Galerie B-312 as part of Gráfica Abierta exhibition. 

27 October to 1 December

Gráfica abierta

Rutas expansivas en la gráfica mexicana

Curator Santiago Pérez Garci, director of the Museo Nacional de la Estampa (Mexico) join forces with Arprim, and Circa art actuel, with the complicity of Galerie B-312, to host a collective exhibition with nine Mexican artists. 

Spring 2018
22 February to 31 March

Emilie Serri

The Space Between the Seconds

Galerie B-312 is pleased to present Emilie Serri’s latest exhibition The Space Between the Seconds, which brings together three video installations rooted in the artist’s questions about her Syrian origins.

13 January to 17 February

Vida Simon and Jack Stanley

Carried Away | L'interruption
Vida Simon and Jack Stanley invite you to instants of their performance. These shared moments will be an opportunity to follow some of artists’ actions as part of their Carried Away | L'interruption project. Come to notice the differences, to experiment these instants of variable density.
11 January to 17 February

VIDA SIMON and JACK STANLEY

CARRIED AWAY | L'INTERRUPTION

There are two figures in an empty room: she is the drawer, and he is the observer. They work in silence. She is on a low platform with a pile of paper and handmade charcoal. She draws continuously. He responds by writing, framing, and periodically intervening.

Summer 2017
23 June to 31 August

Vida Simon et Jack Stanley

Artists in residence

During the summer period, Galerie B-312 is pleased to offer its space to an artist in the context of a free residency. This year, artists Vida Simon and Jack Stanley are the third that will benefit from it. 

Spring 2017
13 April 17h à 19h

Guillaume Boudrias-Plouffe

FAIRE—VOIR—EXPLORER

We invite you to come and take a look at our last workshop with the members of Action Centre-Ville. This season, it is Guillaume Boudrias-Plouffe’s turn to invite a dozen of participants to explore contemporary art through assemblage of objects and performance.

Fall 2015
15 October to 14 November

Karen Elaine Spencer

LETTERS HOME / LETTRES À MA MÈRE

karen elaine spencer puts herself in public places, sometimes marginale - parks, subway corridors, street corner - and invests different means of communication to explore the society around us and question unequal relationships of power that govern it. 

Spring 2015
16 January to 14 February

IVANA IVKOVIC—IVANA SMILJANIC—ANICA VUCETIC—SLAVICA PANIC—VESSNA PERUNOVICH—MAJA RADANOVIC OZEGOVIC

SENSING REALITIES

The Sensing Realities exhibition is realized as a joint project of Gallery B-312 from Montreal and Remont Gallery from Belgrade in order to connect and exchange current contem­porary art production from Canada and Serbia. 

29 December to 16 January

Ivana Smiljanic — Ivana Ivkovic

Artist in residency

Galerie B-312 is hosting Ivana Smiljanic and Ivana Ivkovic, two artists of Serbian origin, in residency. They will create an in situ work open to the public upon Sensing Realities exhibition opening. 

 

Fall 2013
7 September to 5 October

Cheryl Sourkes

Everybody’s Autobiography
As part of Le Mois de la Photo à Montréal

For Everybody Autobiography's production, Cheryl Sourkes searches the Internet to find images from webcams and social media. She addresses questions about the relationship between voyeurism and surveillance or about public and private life.

Spring 2013
10 January to 9 February

SÉRIPOP—YANNICK DESRANLEAU AND CHLOE LUM

De par les options qui s'offrent à nous : la moins plausible / la plus tolérable

Séripop duo's installation adjoins architectural elements to a colorful upholstery applied in allover. Using their qualities as a topographic markers, the artists defeat the traditional hanging and the presentation space and redegine the space itself. 

Spring 2012
23 March to 28 April

Mathieu Beauséjour—Clément de Gaulejac—Aude Moreau—David K. Ross—Karen Elaine Spencer

Revus

Galerie B-312 celebrates twenty years of ambitious projects with Revus, an exhibition drawing its origin from the gallery's guest books. Five artists were invited to work from these twelve guest books. 

Fall 2011
27 August to 2 October

Galerie B-312' 20th anniversary

A year of celebration
Maison de la culture Notre-Dame-de-Grâce

Consisting of 27 works, this event highlights the dynamism and versatility of Galerie B-312, which has become, over time, a reference on the Montréal’s contemporary art scene. 

Spring 2010
7 May to 29 May

Pour l'art

A fundraising exhibition at Galerie B-312

Every year, Galerie B-312 invites you to support the activities of the centre by acquiring a work of art. Thus, you directly support the dissemination, recognition and the impact of current artistic practices.

Fall 2009
14 November

vida simon

L'habit / The suit
As part of Animals and Children

This performance is inspired by a child’s suit. This found object, belonging to another era, appears to be a shrunken version of a grown up’s clothing. Not knowing the clothing’s specific history allows for a continual projection of possible scenarios.

4 September to 3 October

KUTLUG ATAMAN and ZINEB SEDIRA

1+1=1, Mother tongue
As part of Le Mois de la Photo à Montréal

With 1+1=1, Mother Tongue, Ataman and Sedira deal with the unpredictable impacts of acts as decisive as the borders erection and the desire to abolish them. This exhibition reveals the limits of constraining the photographic conception to a theory of the index sign. 

Spring 2009
30 April to 14 November

Animaux et enfants—Animals and Children

A Series

Animals and Children is a series that brings together performances, videos and installations throughout the spring and fall of 2009. The artworks presented attempt to re-direct social behaviours and assumptions about human nature by playing with becoming other than human.

2 April

FRANCINE SAVARD—JEAN-ÉMILE VERDIER—MARIO CÔTÉ— RAYMOND LAVOIE—STÉPHANE LA RUE

L'AutreAuPortrait. Cahier

The fruit of the exhibition without taking advantage of it, and conceived in the same spirit as the first publication, L'AutreAuPortrait.cahier brings together the intentions of the exhibition, the words of a conference on the face of the Other, and conversations presented in the form of a photographic essay....

2 April

FRANCINE SAVARD—JEAN-ÉMILE VERDIER—MARIO CÔTÉ—RAYMOND LAVOIE—STÉPHANE LA RUE

L'AutreAuPortrait. Cahier

Fruit of the exhibition without using it, and conceived in the same spirit as the first publication, L'AutreAuPortrait.Cahier gathers the intentions of the exhibition, the words of a conference on the face of the Other, and conversations presented in the form of a photographic essay.

27 March to 18 April

Pour l'art

A fundraising exhibition at Galerie B-312

Every year, Galerie B-312 invites you to support the activities of the centre by acquiring a work of art. Thus, you directly support the dissemination, recognition and the impact of current artistic practices.

5 March

ALEXANDRE ST-ONGE—ÉRIC LÉTOURNEAU—MAGALI BABIN—MARTIN TÉTREAULT 

Les jeudis tout ouïe
Concert

A conductor, musicians and their instruments. Four sound artists each sitting in front of a turntable. Several circular surfaces of different dimensions and materials. A conductor who gives the tone, the speed, the volume and the orders of appearance.

Spring 2008
11 April to 10 May

FRANÇOIS SIMARD

DANS LA GADOUE JUSQU'AUX ESSIEUX

François Simard relegates matrix forms that act in spite of us, on the interpretation of what we see,  to the register of any other pictorial motif entering the composition of the painting. In so doing, he neutralizes their power of inflection of judgment.

1 March

NUIT SONORE 2008

NUIT BLANCHE

For its third edition Galerie B-312, in collaboration with Art Matters, offers a night of sound and visual performances. From visual to auditory, this is an evening of experimentation of all kinds not to be missed.

Pages

Archives

Automne 2020
8 septembre au 18 octobre

RANDA MADDAH— EMILIE SERRI — GUILLERMO TREJO— KIM WALDRON

Espaces identitaires
eXcentrer

La migration des peuples est un phénomène récurrent dans l’histoire de l’humanité, soit-elle par choix, par obligation, par nécessité. Par quoi se définit notre territoire ? De quelle manière l’héritage culturel et identitaire agit-il sur ce que nous sommes ?

Printemps 2020
20 mars au 10 mai

RANDA MADDAH— EMILIE SERRI — GUILLERMO TREJO— KIM WALDRON

Espaces identitaires | eXcentrer
Exposition reportée

La migration des peuples est un phénomène récurrent dans l’histoire de l’humanité, soit-elle par choix, par obligation, par nécessité. Par quoi se définit notre territoire ? De quelle manière l’héritage culturel et identitaire agit-il sur ce que nous sommes ?

21 février au 28 mars

LA TRACK | THE TRACK

MONTRÉAL | BALTIMORE

La Galerie B-312 est heureuse de présenter le deuxième volet de l’exposition La Track | The Track, commissarié par Gabrielle Lajoie-Bergeron, dans lequel des artistes de Montréal et de Baltimore révèlent les résultats de leur résidence respective en territoires étrangers.

21 février au 28 mars

LA TRACK | THE TRACK

À propos des artistes

Apprenez-en davantage sur les artistes de Montréal et de Baltimore dans le cadre de l'exposition La Track | The Track, présentée à la Galerie B-312 jusqu'au 28 mars 2020.

Automne 2019
13 septembre 19h à 22h

eXcentrer

Lancement officiel

Emmanuelle Choquette, Marthe Carrier, Émilie Granjon et Stéphanie Chabot, directrices de Arprim, Galerie B-312, Circa et Skol, signent le commissariat d'eXcentrer et vous convient à cette manifestation singulière qui se déploie de septembre 2019 à mai 2020 à la Galerie d’art Desjardins de Drummondville....

Été 2019
13 juillet au 26 août

Naghmeh Sharifi

En résidence
Naghmeh Sharifi explore la relation entre le corps et l'espace : le corps qui habite l'espace et le corps en tant qu'espace habité. À travers des médias élémentaires tels que le papier, la cire, l'encre et l'eau, elle dépeint les mondes dilués et incertains de ses sujets.
Printemps 2019
6 avril

LAUZIER / ORINS/ SCHELLANDER + GUIONNET / NORMAND / PAYEUR

TOUR DE BRAS

Dans le cadre d'une série de concerts au Québec, la Galerie B-312 a le plaisir d'accueillir Tour de Bras = B312Rencontres improvisées, avec comme invités spéciaux au saxophone Jean-Luc Guionnet, à la musique électronique Émilie Payeur et à la basse Éric Normand. 

4 février au 15 juillet

LA TRACK | THE TRACK

MONTRÉAL | BALTIMORE

Dans le cadre du projet La Track | The Track, quatre artistes et deux collectifs montréalais sont de passage au centre Pigment Sauvage pour des résidences qui se concluront par deux expositions collectives présentées à l'Institute of Contemporary Art Baltimore et à la Galerie B-312.

19 janvier au 2 mars

La Vitrine

Atelier Daigneault | Schofield

Depuis 2004, Michel Daigneault et Stephen Schofield offrent aux artistes les deux vitrines de leur atelier sur la rue Rachel. Les artistes invités occupent les fenêtres pendant une période de deux mois pour présenter leurs œuvres ou encore monter une installation.

18 janvier au 2 mars

CAROLINE SAVES ET BENOÎT VIDAL

J'éprouve le silence des corps, c'est doux les gestes inanimés
Conversations Montréal | Lyon

Dans le cadre de Conversations Montréal | Lyon, Caroline Saves et Benoît Vidal proposent une chorégraphie suspendue dans laquelle s’entrecroisent et dialoguent leurs actions performées et sculpturales, questionnant ainsi le langage gestuel à travers le souvenir de leurs corps en mouvement.

19 décembre au 16 janvier

Caroline Saves et Benoît Vidal 

En résidence
Conversations Montréal | Lyon

La Galerie B-312 est heureuse d'offrir, pendant la période des fêtes, son espace à deux artistes lyonnais, Caroline Saves et Benoît Vidal, dans le cadre du projet Conversations Montréal | Lyon

Automne 2018
27 octobre au 1 décembre

GRÁFICA ABIERTA

À PROPOS DES ARTISTES

Apprenez-en davantage sur les artistes qui exposent à la Galerie B-312 dans le cadre de l'exposition Gráfica Abierta.

27 octobre au 1 décembre

Gráfica abierta

Rutas expansivas en la gráfica mexicana

Sous le commissariat de Santiago Pérez Garci, directeur du Museo Nacional de la Estampa (Mexico), Arprim et Circa art actuel, avec la complicité de la Galerie B-312, s’associent pour accueillir neuf artistes mexicains.

Printemps 2018
22 février au 31 mars

Emilie Serri

The Space Between the Seconds

La Galerie B-312 a le plaisir de présenter The Space Between the Seconds, la plus récente exposition d’Émilie Serri, regroupant trois installations vidéo tirant leur genèse des questionnements de l’artiste sur ses origines syriennes.

13 janvier au 17 février

Vida Simon et Jack Stanley

Carried Away | L'interruption

Vida Simon et Jack Stanley vous convient à des moments de performance. D'une durée de trois heures, ces performances vous laissent libres d'aller et venir, de quitter, de revenir. Tout au long de l'exposition, venez constater les écarts, les différences, vivre ces instants de densité variable.

11 janvier au 17 février

VIDA SIMON et JACK STANLEY

CARRIED AWAY | L'INTERRUPTION

Il y a deux personnes dans une pièce vide : elle est la dessinatrice et lui, l'observateur. Ils travaillent en silence. Elle se tient sur une plate-forme basse avec une pile de papier et du fusain fabriqué artisanalement. Elle dessine continuellement. Il lui répond en intervenant périodiquement.

Summer 2017
23 juin au 31 août

Vida Simon et Jack Stanley

En résidence

La Galerie B-312 est heureuse d'offrir, pendant la période estivale, son espace à un artiste dans le cadre d'une résidence libre. Cette année, Vida Simon et Jack Stanley seront les troisièmes à bénéficier de cette résidence d'été.

 

Printemps 2017
13 avril 17h à 19h

Guillaume Boudrias-Plouffe

FAIRE—VOIR—EXPLORER
Nous vous convions à venir prendre la mesure de notre dernier atelier réalisé avec les membres d’Action Centre-Ville. Cette saison, c'est au tour de Guillaume Boudrias-Plouffe de permettre aux participants d'explorer l'art contemporain à travers l'assemblage d'objets et la performance.
Automne 2015
15 octobre au 14 novembre

Karen Elaine Spencer

LETTERS HOME / LETTRES À MA MÈRE

karen elaine spencer se met en situation dans des lieux publics, parfois marginaux – parcs, couloirs du métro, coins de rue – et investit différents moyens de communication pour explorer la société qui nous entoure et interroger les rapports de pouvoir qui la régissent.

Printemps 2015
16 janvier au 14 février

IVANA IVKOVIC—IVANA SMILJANIC—ANICA VUCETIC—SLAVICA PANIC—VESSNA PERUNOVICH—MAJA RADANOVIC OZEGOVIC

SENSING REALITIES

La Galerie B-312 accueille le centre Remont avec l’exposition Sensing Realities, qui réunit le travail de six femmes artistes d’origine serbe, dont trois vivent en Serbie et trois à Toronto. 

29 décembre au 16 janvier

Ivana Smiljanic — Ivana Ivkovic

EN RÉSIDENCE

La Galerie B-312 accueille en résidence Ivana Smiljanic et Ivana Ivkovic, deux artistes d'origine serbe. Cette période de travail leur permettra de créer une œuvre in situ que vous pourrez découvrir dans l'exposition Sensing Realities

Automne 2013
7 septembre au 5 octobre

Cheryl Sourkes

Everybody’s Autobiography
Dans le cadre du Mois de la Photo à Montréal
Cheryl Sourkes fouille de fond en comble Internet à la recherche d’images provenant des webcams et des médias sociaux pour la production de Everybody’s Autobiography. Elle pose des questions sur la relation entre voyeurisme et surveillance et sur les limites du public et du privé.
Printemps 2013
10 janvier au 9 février

Séripop—Yannick Desranleau et Chloe Lum

De par les options qui s'offrent à nous : la moins plausible / la plus tolérable

L'installation du duo Séripop se déploie en deux parties et jouxte des éléments architecturaux à un tapissé coloré appliqué en allover. En utilisant leurs qualités de marqueur topographique, les artistes déjouent l’accrochage traditionnel et l’espace de présentation et redéfinissent le lieu même.

Printemps 2012
23 mars au 28 avril

Mathieu Beauséjour—Clément de Gaulejac—Aude Moreau—David K. Ross—Karen Elaine Spencer

Revus

La Galerie B-312 souligne vingt ans de projets ambitieux avec Revus, une exposition tirant son point d’origine des livres d’or de la galerie. Cinq artistes ont été invités à travailler à partir de ces douze livres d’or. 

Automne 2011
27 août au 2 octobre

LES 20 ANS DE LA GALERIE B-312

Une année de célébrations
Maison de la culture Notre-Dame-de-Grâce

Constituée de 27 œuvres phares, cet événement met en lumière le dynamisme et la polyvalence de la Galerie B-312 devenue, au fil du temps, une référence dans le milieu des arts actuels à Montréal. 

Printemps 2010
7 mai au 29 mai

Pour l'art

Une exposition au bénéfice de la Galerie B-312

Chaque année, la Galerie B-312 vous convie à soutenir les activités du centre en faisant l'acquisition d'une oeuvre d'art. Vous appuyez ainsi directement la diffusion, la reconnaissance et le rayonnement des pratiques artistiques actuelles.

Automne 2009
14 novembre

vida simon

L'habit / The suit
Dans le cadre de Animaux et enfants

Cette performance s’inspire d’un habit d'enfant. Cet objet trouvé, relevant d’une autre époque, semble être le vêtement rétréci d’une grande personne. En ne connaissant pas l'histoire spécifique du vêtement, une foule de scénarios deviennent possibles.

4 septembre au 3 octobre

KUTLUG ATAMAN et ZINEB SEDIRA

1+1=1, Mother tongue
Dans le cadre du Mois de la Photo à Montréal

Avec 1+1=1, Mother Tongue, Ataman et Sedira traitent des impacts imprévisibles d’actes aussi décisifs que l’érection de frontières et le désir de les abolir. L'exposition révèle les limites de contraindre la conception du photographique à une théorie du signe indiciel.

Printemps 2009
30 avril au 14 novembre

Animaux et enfants—Animals and Children

Une série

La série Animaux et enfants réunit des performances, des oeuvres vidéographiques et des installations diffusées au cours du printemps et de l’automne 2009. Les œuvres présentées tentent de re-configurer les présomptions et les comportements sociaux relatifs à la nature humaine.

2 avril

FRANCINE SAVARD—JEAN-ÉMILE VERDIER—MARIO CÔTÉ— RAYMOND LAVOIE—STÉPHANE LA RUE

L'AutreAuPortrait. Cahier

Fruit de l'exposition sans s'en prévaloir, et conçue dans le même esprit que la première publication, L'AutreAuPortrait.Cahier rassemble les intentions de l'exposition, les propos d'une conférence sur le visage de l'Autre, et des conversations présentées sous forme d'un essai photographique....

27 mars au 18 avril

Pour l'art

Une exposition au bénéfice de la Galerie B-312

Chaque année, la Galerie B-312 vous convie à soutenir les activités du centre en faisant l'acquisition d'une oeuvre d'art. Vous appuyez ainsi directement la diffusion, la reconnaissance et le rayonnement des pratiques artistiques actuelles.

5 mars

ALEXANDRE ST-ONGE—ÉRIC LÉTOURNEAU—MAGALI BABIN— MARTIN TÉTREAULT 

Les jeudis tout ouïe
Concert

Un chef d'orchestre, des musiciens et leurs instruments.Quatre artistes sonores assis chacun devant un tourne-disques. Plusieurs surfaces circulaires de différentes dimensions et matières.Un orchestrateur qui donne le ton, la vitesse, le volume et les ordres d'apparition.

Printemps 2008
11 avril au 10 mai

FRANÇOIS SIMARD

DANS LA GADOUE JUSQU'AUX ESSIEUX

En instaurant un dialogue, apparemment purement visuel, entre deux tableaux, peints l'un pour l'autre en quelque sorte, François Simard met en évidence des formes, comme celle de paysage ou celle de "plan du tableau", qui plutôt que d'accueillir le regard, infléchissent la vision à nos dépens.

1 mars

NUIT SONORE 2008

NUIT BLANCHE

Pour sa troisième édition la Galerie B-312 en collaboration avec Art Matters, propose une nuit de performances sonores et visuelles. Du visuel à l’auditif, une soirée d’expérimentation en tous genre à ne pas manquer.

23 février au 29 mars

JUSTIN STEPHENS

Poor Peril

L'exposition de Justin Stephens ne présente pas de tableaux, mais des masses informes en cire réalisées à force d’avoir laissé un nombre incalculable de bougies se consumer et fondre.

Pages